MINUTES OF THE 118th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE GORDON DISTRICT CRICKET CLUB INC HELD AT KILLARA GOLF CLUB ON MONDAY 24th JULY, 2023 at 6.45 pm

PRESENT:

As per Secretary's list

APOLOGIES:

As per Secretary's list

GUESTS:

President Michael Cant welcomed members and guests:

Mr. Ed Cowan (Director, Cricket NSW)

Ms Hannah Barnes (Cricket NSW)

Andrew Falk (SCA, Committee of Management)

Life Members – Cuthbert Berenger, (Michael Cant), Jim Cattlin, Phil Emery, Andrew Falk, Michael Falk, Geoff Hickman, Scott Hinton, Ed Howitt Jnr, Marshall Rosen, Paul Stephenson, Tony Wilson.

Women's Division – Beny Chun, Jessica Henry

NOTICE OF MEETING:

Read by Hon. Secretary.

APOLOGIES:

Read and recorded by the Hon. Secretary

OBITUARIES: The passing of Brian Taber (Life Member), Bryan Dawson and Robert Rosen was acknowledged with a minute's silence.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING:

The President tabled the Minutes of the Previous Meeting which had been circulated with the Notice of Meeting and asked for a motion that these Minutes be taken as read – moved by J Cattlin, seconded S Hinton. Also, that he should sign the Minutes as being a true and correct record of the business transacted at the previous AGM. Moved A Falk, Seconded J Cattlin. Carried

REPORT from CNSW

Mr. Ed Cowan, Board Member - summarised events of the past season and the performance of the State teams. Performance needs to improve despite the high representation of NSW players in Test teams. The only real highlight was the performance of the Sixers Big Bash team. Participation at Junior level has increased, particularly young females, with 3,000 more playing. Diversity is a priority in CNSW. Male and Female Premier Cricket reviews are expected in 6-12 months. CNSW will increase grants by approximately 3.5% for next season. A question from the floor seeking assistance beyond the normal financial was asked. CNSW is focused on strategy for Premier Cricket including ground access.

Hannah Barnes, Snr Leadership Team, CNSW – Emphasized history will not be lost in PlayHQ system despite MyCricket being turned off at 31st August. Hopefully a PlayHQ app will become available in the near future. Offered to answer up to ten questions about PlayHQ.

REPORT from SCA

Mr. Andrew Falk – There was minimal interruption by COVID last season. Live streaming matches went well. Major changes to the T20 competition are proposed for next season – 4 x 5-club pools with 4 preliminary games followed by an extended finals series. T20 Competition starts 23rd Sept with the final on 5th Nov. Premier Cricket 2nd Grade L/O matches in coloured clothing. All drinks breaks will be taken on the field next season each with a 4-minute allowance in calculating over-rates. There will be 30 minutes before loss of overs in LO fixtures, instead of 75 minutes. A 13th player (fielder-only) will be permitted in each Green Shield match, 11 bat, 11 fielders on the ground. There were 54 breaches of the Code of Conduct, up from 31 the previous season – a new CoC system will be introduced before next season.

ADOPTION OF ANNUAL REPORT AND FINANCIAL STATEMENT:

The Club President, Mr. Michael Cant proposed the adoption of the 118th Annual Report and Balance Sheet.

He summarised a less-difficult season due to COVID-19 concerns. He thanked all the volunteers for their efforts, especially Glenn Tullia and others who had been involved with the Underarm Lunch as well as the coaches, in particular Matt Nicholson. He congratulated the Junior Club on a successful season. He gave special thanks to the sponsors, all volunteers especially Geoff Keevers for his work as Hon Treasurer, to Peter Bray from Trumans (the Club Auditors in the first year), to Mark Carmichael as the Cricket Director and to Scott Hinton and David Bezer from the Junior Club. He congratulated Matt Wright and Ryan Tullia as Club Co-Captains for generating great club spirit. He congratulated the Women's Division on a good season and the strengthening relationship with the Men's club. He warned that the challenges ahead were with improving facilities, raising additional operating revenue and lifting performance to match other clubs.

Jim Cattlin seconded the motion to adopt the Annual Report and Balance Sheet suggesting that a format for submitting captain's reports for the Annual Report be drafted.

Geoff Keevers, Hon Treasurer, spoke to the motion of adopting the Financial Statement giving details of the financial position and indicating a "break-even" situation for the year. He emphasized events, donations and sponsors are essential for the financial well-being of the Club. He advised that the Chatswood RSL Club will be increasing its support for the Club and highlighted several expenditure items.

The motion to adopt the Annual Report and Balance Sheet for 2022-23 was put to the Members in attendance. Carried.

ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS:

The following were elected unopposed:

The Mayors of Willoughby and Ku-ring-gai, Mr Ian Carroll AM and Mr	
Marshall Rosen, OAM	
Michael Cant	
Andrew Falk	
Jim Cattlin	
Geoff Keevers	
Andrew Falk & Mark Carmichael	
Andrew Falk	
mittee: Mark Carmichael, Rob Carruthers, Geoff Hickman, Scott Hinton, Mathew	
Patterson, Glenn Tullia, Ben Woods and Jim Wright.	
Trumans (Peter Bray) – subsequently advised now known as "CAAA"	

Marshall Rosen was congratulated on his award of an OAM for "Services to Cricket" earlier in 2023.

WOMEN'S DIVISION REPORT – **President, Beny Chun** reported on the structure of the Club and performance of the teams last season. He particularly emphasized the culture, player development and coaching as essential elements of what continue to grow stronger at the GDWCC.

TRIBUTE TO BRIAN TABER – Phil Emery, past Australian player, NSW Captain and wicket keeper delivered a tribute to Brian as a player, coach, selector and team manager during his cricket career with highlights in each facet. Brian was highly respected with a genuine and friendly manner on and off the field.

CRICKET REPORT - Tym Crawford briefly summarised the on-field performance of the Club last season. Head Coach, Elliot Richtor, will be assisted by past 1st Grade player, Paul McLean, while specialist skills coaching will be provided by Matt Nicholson (fast bowling), Mark O'Neill (batting) and Stuart MacGill (spin bowling). Julian Stephenson (conditioning), and Dan Lee (Physiotherapist) will continue in their current roles.

GENERAL BUSINESS – there was no General Business.

CLOSE: The meeting closed at 8.30 pm

APOLOGIES AND ATTENDEES - GDCC AGM – MONDAY 24th JULY 2023

Apologies	Attendees
Graham Mackie	Michael Cant
David Bezer	Andrew Falk
Gerry Elkan	Jim Cattlin
lan Packman	Tony Wilson
Ron Clarke	Manangam (Prem) Premkumar
Bob Thomas	Bala Subramanian
Ian Carroll (leaving for O/S)	Geoff Hickman
Elliot Richtor	Cuthbert Berenger
Paul Stephenson	Rob Carruthers
	Ed Howitt
	Sam Buono
	Peter Bray – Auditor (Trumans)
	Glenn Tullia
	Beny Chun (Women's Division)
	Tym Crawford
	Mat Patterson
	Oscar Patterson
	Geoff Keevers
	Marshall Rosen OAM
	Jessica Henry (Women's Division)
	Jim Wright
	Phil Emery
	Matt Wright
	Scott Hinton
	Callum Bladen
	Dick Huey
	Ben Woods
	Quincy Titterton
	Rob Radley
	James Loynes
	Chris Rigg (Junior Club)
	Mark Carmichael
	Michael Falk (Zoom)
	Cricket NSW
	Ed Cowan – Board (Zoom)
	Hannah Barnes – Senior Management (Zoom)