# MINUTES OF THE 116th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE GORDON DISTRICT CRICKET CLUB INC HELD via ZOOM VIDEO CONFERENCING SYSTEM ON MONDAY 26th JULY, 2021 at 6.45 pm

# PRESENT:

As per Secretary's list

# APOLOGIES:

As per Secretary's list

### **GUESTS:**

President Geoff Hickman welcomed members and guests:

Mr. Neil Maxwell (Cricket NSW Director)

Craig Hambleton (SCA, Committee of Management)

**Life Members** – Jim Cattlin, Michael Falk, Andrew Falk, Geoff Hickman, Ed Howitt Jr., Michael Cant, Cuthbert Berenger and Paul Stephenson

Women's Division – Jessica Henry, Beny Chun, Bryce Thompson and Catherine Pittaway.

# **NOTICE OF MEETING:**

Read by Hon. Secretary.

## APOLOGIES:

Read and recorded by the Hon. Secretary

**OBITUARIES**: The passing of Life Member John Morrison, Wally Macdonald and Colin McQueen was acknowledged and recognised.

# **MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING:**

The President tabled the Minutes of the Previous Meeting which had been circulated with the Notice of Meeting and asked for a motion that the Minutes be taken as read – moved by J Cattlin, seconded S Hinton. Also, that he sign the Minutes as being a true and correct record of the business transacted at the previous AGM. Moved A Falk, Seconded G Keevers. Carried

# ADOPTION OF ANNUAL REPORT AND FINANCIAL STATEMENT:

**The Club President, Mr. Geoff Hickman** proposed the adoption of the 116th Annual Report and Balance Sheet.

He summarised a difficult season due to COVID-19 concerns. He thanked all the volunteers for their efforts, especially retiring Management Committee member Vaughn Richtor. He thanked Glenn Tullia and others who had been involved with the Annual Golf Day & Dinner. He congratulated the Women's Club and Juniors on a successful season. He gave special thanks to the sponsors, all volunteers especially Geoff Keevers for his work as Hon Treasurer, Peter Cronin retiring Hon Auditor, Michael Cant as Cricket Director and Scott Hinton and David Bezer from Junior Club. He congratulated Tym Crawford, First Grade captain and Jackson Saggers for selection in the SCA's 1st Grade Merit XI as well as Matt Wright and Ryan Tullia as co-Club Captains for generating great club spirit. He congratulated the Women's Division on winning their Third Grade premiership and to Jessica Henry the retiring President after 25 years at the helm.

Jim Cattlin seconded the motion to adopt the Annual Report and Balance Sheet. Motion carried

CRICKET COMMITTEE REPORT: Michael Cant reported on the performance of the teams last season, in particular the Poidevin-Gray Shield on their co-Premiership. Pre-season fitness training has been arranged at Artarmon Reserve and synthetic net sessions have been booked before moving to Chatswood Oval turf in September if these are permitted under COVID lockdown rules. Coaches, Ben Preece and Trevor Chappell have moved on and Elliot Richtor and Nick Miller will be Club Coaches. Mark O'Neill, Matt Nicholson and Terry Howes will continue as specialist skills coaches.

**Geoff Keevers, Hon Treasurer** spoke to the motion giving details of the financial position which is favourable considering the disruption of COVID-19.

# **ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS:**

The following were elected unopposed:

Patrons: The Mayors of Willoughby and Ku-ring-gai and Mr Ian Carroll AM

President: Michael Cant
Hon. Secretary: James Cattlin
Assist Hon. Sec: Andrew Falk
Hon. Treasurer: Geoff Keevers

Delegates to SCA: Andrew Falk & Michael Cant

Delegate to CNSW: Andrew Falk

General Committee: Michael Cant, Mark Carmichael, Glenn Tullia, Scott Hinton, Rob Carruthers,

Jim Wright, Ben Callanan and Bob Thomas

Hon. Auditor: TBA

# **REPORT from SCA**

**Mr. Craig Hambleton –** Summarised the previous season and outlined the NSW Premier Cricket competition format for 2021-22. It is hoped that there will not be a staggered start to the new season caused by COVID-19. A new SCA Constitution was introduced during last season. Women's clubs are now individually recognised at the SCA rather than only having one delegate (vote) for the whole competition.

He thanked the Gordon Club for its support of the SCA and the sponsors.

# **REPORT from CNSW**

**Mr. Neil Maxwell** summarised events of the past season and performance of the State teams winning three titles and runner up in the Sheffield Shield. CNSW has guaranteed to maintain grants at the previous year's levels regardless of the potential reduced funding that may flow from Cricket Australia, having broken even over the last two years. Live streaming matches has been a success. Customer focus is an emphasis of CNSW. The new headquarters at Wilson Park should be completed in six months.

# Nomination for Life Membership - Scott Hinton.

David Bezer, President of Junior Division, proposed the nomination outlining Scott's outstanding achievements over the past 12-14 years. Glen Kierse (Junior Club) spoke to, and formally seconded the motion to elect. This motion was Carried by more than two-thirds of the members present. The president congratulated Mr Hinton on his election.

# **GENERAL BUSINESS**

**Jessica Henry** provided a summary of the Women's Division season and an update for the coming season. Beny Chun, incoming President, thanked Jessica for all her work as President over 25 years.

Geoff Hickman thanked all for their attendance.

CLOSE: The meeting closed at 8.05 pm

President, Gordon District Cricket Club Inc

# APOLOGIES AND ATTENDEES - GDCC AGM - MONDAY 26th JULY, 2021

Tim Conde Graham Mackie Tony Kingsford-Smith	Geoff Hickman
	Geoff Hickman
Tony Kingsford-Smith	
TOTTY KITIGOTOTO-SITILLI	Andrew Falk
Graham King	Jim Cattlin
Dallas Drake	Ed Howitt Jnr
Steve Day	Glenn Tullia
Dick Huey	Ryan Tullia
Michael Berman	Cuthbert Berenger
	Jess Henry
Lee Germon, CEO CNSW	Michael Cant
	Bob Thomas
	Geoff Keevers
	Michael Falk
	Nick Miller
	Ben Parsons
	Mark Carmichael
	Bala Subramanian
	Scott Hinton
	Catherine Pittaway
	Glen Kierse
	Prem Premkumar
	Grant Nelson
	Bryce Thompson
	Mark Fuzes
	Beny Chun
	Rob Carruthers
	Ben Woods
	Matt Wright
	Jim Wright
	Jacob Balenzuela
	Mike Weaver
	Paul Stephenson
	Ben Callanan
	Andy Baldwin
	Ron Alexander
	David Bezer
	Felix Booth
	Judy & Barry Cant
	Elliot Richtor
	Quincy Titterton
	Max Newman
	G. Robinson
	SCA – Craig Hambleton
	CNSW – Neil Maxwell